Hubbard squash in a crockpot

After my traditional birthday lunch with my family my dad said he had something for me in the car.  What he gave me wasn’t what I was expecting.  He pulled out this ugly blue thing and a butternut squash (which is the only reason I could figure out what the first one probably was).  Apparently, it was a hubbard squash.  I have never heard of such a thing and when I got home started googling ideas of what I could do with it.  I found that it was supposed to taste similar to how a pumpkin would, which I think is false.  I decided to do a stuffed hubbard.  I work the night shift and with the squash taking about 2 hours to cook in the oven there was no way I could make it for a week meal that way.  I went for the crockpot!  Crockpots are probably the best thing when you work nights! I chopped the hubbard in half with some effort, thick skin, and scrapped the seeds out.  Put some extra virgin olive oil on it with salt and pepper to taste and put on high for 4 hours.  My crockpot will keep warm after it is done with the time so I woke up to a soft squash but not overcooked.  Awesome! The filling I made when I got up.  This was the perfect amount for two people who like to eat but you could make more if you had more squash.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  • 1 Onion
  • tbs garlic
  • 1/2 lb ground beef
  • can of stewed tomatoes
  • sharp cheddar to top
  • tsp season all
  • tsp sage
  • fresh parsley

Dice the onion and saute until soft in olive oil (or coconut oil).  Add the garlic for about a minute until fragrant, followed by the ground beef.  Cook until no longer pink.  Add Season all and Sage (nutmeg, or allspice would be nice too).  Stir the spices in for 30 seconds and then add the tomatoes.  Allow them to heat through.  Once it is nice and warm put the halfed squash in a baking dish and fill them with the filling.  Top with fresh parsley and top with freshly grated sharp cheddar, whatever amount you’d like.  (if you are like us then lots of cheese is needed!).  Bake for 15 minutes or until cheese is melted.

Taste test:

The hubs didn’t care for the hubbard. I enjoyed it but I did think it was different.  On the plus side, I am really excited about cooking the squash in the crockpot.  Fall and Winter make perfect weather for stuffed squash and now I can make then even though I don’t get up til 7pm some days!

One thought on “Hubbard squash in a crockpot

Leave a Reply

