Pumpkin Whoppie Pies and Pumpkin Bread

I usually have pumpkin puree on hand because I have found that not only is it delicious, it is great for dogs.  Over the summer our Blue heeler, Jax, decided it was a GREAT idea to get into the cat litter while I was in the other room.  He was very proud of himself until 12 hours later when he got incredibly sick. I don’t think the poor boy has ever been that sick before.  We tried to wait it out hoping he would get better quickly but he would seem better and then go back to being sick the next day.  I was planning on calling the vet in the morning when I remembered that pumpkin was soothing on doggie stomachs so I figured it was worth a shot.  Both of our dogs gobbled it right up, which was great since we couldn’t get Jax to eat very much at the time.  After that he was back to his old energetic self!  At least he is smart enough not to get back into the cat litter, nope he’s moved up in the world, on to cat food!

Like everyone else when the weather starts turning chilly and you can see the leaves changing colors you start to think fall and fall foods.  I was in the mood to bake something and I came across this Pumpkin Whoppie Pie recipe months ago and it sounded like a great idea now that it’s starting to feel like fall.  I found the recipe on the Deliciously Organic website http://deliciouslyorganic.net/pumpkin-whoopie-pies-with-maple-cream-cheese-frosting/ .  I have been waiting to make this because I couldn’t find maple sugar but when we made a trip to Pumpkinville in Ellicotville, NY a few weeks ago I hit up their maple stands.  Boy, maple sugar is expensive!  I bought the smallest one they had and it was still $5.  In this recipe, I used 1/4 cup maple sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar plus I added about 2 tablespoons of real maple syrup in at the end to get the consistency I wanted.  They turned out well!  It was my first time using Sucanat and it wasn’t what I was expecting.  I have read about it and it is made directly from the sugar cane by crushing it.  It is then heated and paddled to create the Sucanat.  Since it still contains the natural molasses it is apparently a good brown sugar replacement.  I suppose, that is why I was expecting it to smell sweet like brown sugar.  I don’t think it smells sweet at all and it is made of rather large granules instead of the fine sugar I’m used to.

Granule Size

The size of the granules

Finished product

After the dogs got a spoonful of puree I still had some leftovers so I made pumpkin bread!

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1 3/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup hot water

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Beat together the oil  and honey then beat in the eggs.  Mix in the spices followed by the whole wheat pastry flour, until just combined.  To help the baking soda work mix it in the warm water first then add it into the mixture.  Pour into a greased and floured 9×5 loaf pan.  Bake for an hour or until when you dip a toothpick in the center it comes out clean.  Allow to cool for 5 minutes before removing it from the loaf pan to cool for another 30 minutes prior to cutting.

My aid in the kitchen, Kodiak.

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Whoppie Pies and Pumpkin Bread

    • Coconut oil is rather awesome. It is a good anti-viral, too. I started getting a cold and I mix some in with my tea and the symptoms pretty much went away (everyone else at work is still sick, it is a little weird seeing the oil at the top of the tea tho lol). FYI, it is a solid below 76 degrees F and a liquid above just so it doesn’t freak you out. There is a little coconut after taste depending on what brand you buy but you can’t taste it in baked goods. Easy replacement for Veg oil or olive oil.

Leave a Reply

